Skip to content
Opening times: Mon - Sat 8:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m

References & areas of application

Our most important reference is your satisfaction – worldwide and at all times.

Learn more

PDFDownloads

Our products are used in demanding environments worldwide. Creating trust: Our most important reference is your satisfaction, regardless of whether you only buy a standard drive from us every year or become our long-term customer for special applications. Our products are used worldwide, whether in the Gobi desert or in the sewage treatment plant next door.

Best ofAreas of application (AZ)

credentials

Chemical plants

  • BASF, Bayer, Dow Chemical

Petrochemical

  • BP, Esso, Shell, VTG tank farms

Offshore industry

  • Jan de Nul, Statoil

shipbuilding

  • Abeking + Rasmussen, Aker Werft, Blohm + Voss, HDW, Lürssen K. Werft, Peene Werft

Other industries and applications

  • Crane, KSB, Minimax, Philips, Siemens, Swagelok, Tyco Valves
  • Fire protection systems in rail vehicles and road tunnels. Kerosene filling plants at major airports and many other areas with equally high requirements

Case studyAutomation of valves in the Urfttalsperre

With its impressive dam, the Urfttalsperre is the oldest dam in the Eifel, and for a long time it was Europe's largest and highest dam. The structure is a curved gravity dam, its crowns are 324 m above sea level. It was built between 1900 and 1905 under the direction of Aachen professor Otto Intze and is considered the cradle of modern dam construction. Today the Urfttalsperre is operated together with the Oleftalsperre and the Rurtalsperre (Eifel-Rur Water Association). All three structures serve to generate energy, provide drinking water and provide flood protection.

In this project, TA Roloff replaced Auma drives, which previously operated valves in the so-called valve towers of the Urfttalsperre via a 50 m long rod. The fittings are installed at the bottom of the towers to regulate the flow of water in the base drain tunnel. Depending on the flow rate, the level of the accumulated water changes. The operators of the system wanted the valves to be operated without rods using a waterproof electric drive. The linkage had the disadvantage that efficiency problems occurred and a noticeable torsion of the linkage caused problems in the accuracy of the flow rate control.

Permanent underwater operation

The drive series TA 70, TA 120, TA 130 and TA 140 are available in hermetic enclosure according to IP 68 for permanent underwater operation up to a water depth of 100 m. The IP 68 Oceangear series is therefore the first choice in system areas that are permanently, occasionally or only rarely flooded.

There is a permanent water column of 50 m above the drives we installed in the Urft dam. For a service call, this water column would have to be drained and the employee would have to be roped down into the tower with a crane. Because of the extreme installation position and the desired control accuracy, the customer initially ordered a drive to observe the reliability of the product.

Success story with a future

  • After our drive solution had worked reliably for over 5 years (!), we were able to automate 5 additional valves in the valve towers of the Urfttalsperre with our drives.
  • In addition to the installation position, it was important to ensure that the materials used (e.g. cables and lubrication of the gearbox with vegetable oil) are suitable for drinking water.
  • Precise control of flow rate regulation and actuation of valves without rods with a waterproof electric drive.
  • Use of the units from the IP 68 Oceangear series, as they are optimized for permanent underwater operation up to a water depth of 100 m.
Back To Top

Zum Hauptinhalt springen
Öffnungszeiten: Mo - Sa 8:00 - 18:00

Referenzen & Einsatzgebiete

Unsere wichtigste Referenz ist Ihre Zufriedenheit – weltweit und jederzeit.

Mehr erfahren

PDFDownloads

Unsere Produkte werden weltweit in anspruchsvollen Umgebungen eingesetzt. Vertrauen schaffen: Unsere wichtigste Referenz ist Ihre Zufriedenheit, egal, ob Sie bei uns nur alle Jahre wieder einen Standardantrieb kaufen oder unser Dauerkunde für spezielle Anwendungen werden. Unsere Produkte werden weltweit eingesetzt, ob in der Wüste Gobi oder im Klärwerk nebenan.

Best-ofEinsatzgebiete (A-Z)

Referenzen

Chemieanlagen

  • BASF, Bayer, Dow Chemical

Petrochemie

  • BP, Esso, Shell, VTG Tanklager

Offshore Industrie

  • Jan de Nul, Statoil

Schiffbau

  • Abeking + Rasmussen, Aker Werft, Blohm + Voss, HDW, Lürssen K. Werft, Peene Werft

Weitere Industrien und Anwendungen

  • Crane, KSB, Minimax, Philips, Siemens, Swagelok, Tyco Valves
  • Feuerschutzsysteme in Schienenfahrzeugen und Straßentunneln. Kerosinabfüllanlagen auf Großflughäfen und viele andere Bereiche mit ebenso hohen Anforderungen

Case StudyAutomatisierung von Armaturen in der Urfttalsperre

Mit ihrer beeindruckenden Staumauer ist die Urfttalsperre die älteste Talsperre in der Eifel, zugleich war sie lange Zeit Europas größte und höchste Talsperre. Das Bauwerk ist eine gebogene Gewichtstaumauer, ihre Kronen liegen 324 m über Normal-Null. Sie wurde zwischen 1900 und 1905 unter der Leitung des Aachener Professors Otto Intze erbaut und gilt als die Wiege des modernen Talsperrenbaus. Heute wird die Urfttalsperre gemeinsam mit der Oleftalsperre und der Rurtalsperre betrieben (Wasserverband Eifel-Rur). Alle drei Bauwerke dienen der Energiegewinnung, der Trinkwasserversorgung und dem Hochwasserschutz.

TA Roloff ersetzte bei diesem Projekt Auma-Antriebe, die vormals über ein 50 m langes Gestänge Armaturen in den sog. Schiebertürmen der Urfttalsperre betätigten. Die Armaturen sind am unteren Ende der Türme verbaut, um den Durchfluss von Wasser im Grundablassstollen zu regeln. Je nach Durchflussmenge bewegt sich der Pegel des angestauten Wassers. Die Betreiber der Anlage wünschten die Betätigung der Armaturen ohne Gestänge mit einem wasserdichten Elektroantrieb. Das Gestänge hatte den Nachteil, dass Wirkungsgradprobleme auftraten und eine spürbare Torsion des Gestänges Probleme in der Genauigkeit der Durchflussmengenregelung mit sich brachte.

Permanenter Unterwasserbetrieb

Die Antriebsserien TA 70, TA 120, TA 130 und TA 140 sind in hermetischer Kapselung nach IP 68 für den permanenten Unterwasserbetrieb bis zu einer Wassertiefe von seriell 100 m erhältlich. Die IP 68 Oceangear-Serie ist damit die erste Wahl in Anlagenbereichen, die permanent, gelegentlich oder auch nur selten überflutet sind.

Über den in der Urfttalsperre von uns montierten Antrieben steht permanent eine Wassersäule von 50 m. Für einen Service-Einsatz müsste diese Wassersäule abgelassen werden und der Mitarbeiter müsste mit einem Kran in dem Turm abgeseilt werden. Wegen der extremen Einbaulage und der gewünschten Regelgenauigkeit bestellte der Kunde zunächst einen Antrieb, um die Zuverlässigkeit des Produkts zu beobachten.

Erfolgsgeschichte mit Zukunft

  • Nachdem unsere Antriebslösung über 5 Jahre (!) zuverlässig arbeitete, konnten wir 5 weitere Armaturen in den Schiebertürmen der Urfttalsperre mit unseren Antrieben automatisieren.
  • Neben der Einbaulage war zu beachten, dass die eingesetzten Materialien (z.B. Kabel und Schmierung des Getriebes mit Pflanzenfett) trinkwassertauglich sind.
  • Präzise Steuerung der Durchflussmengenregelung und Betätigung der Armaturen ohne Gestänge mit einem wasserdichten Elektroantrieb.
  • Einsatz der Aggregate aus der IP 68 Oceangear-Serie, da diese für den dauerhaften Unterwasserbetrieb bis zu einer Wassertiefe von seriell 100 m otimiert sind.
Zurück nach oben